2014 Kick-Off Meeting

Daniel Tamm2014 Kick Off Meeting! Think comprehensively about service and volunteerism in our region. How does a regional approach to service influence your organization? How can your agency promote a culture of service? With presenter Daniel Tamm, Chief Service Officer, City of Los Angeles, Mayor Eric Garcetti’s Office

Managing Your Volunteer Talent

Managing Your Volunteer Talent

The next DOVIA mtg. will be Fri., Mar. 15, 9:30 am at the Braille Institute. Use best practices from the field of Human Resources to manage your volunteer talent. To RSVP, contact Barbara Bradley at babradley@comline.com or 949-454-0758.

Managing people is an art.  Learn how Human Resources can be a strategic partner in management fundamentals such as recruitment, strategic planning, and supervision to better serve your volunteers and their supervisors. Ally HR and Volunteer Services and break down silos to align policies and procedures, collaborate on strategic objectives and share information to serve the overall talent of the agency.  Unite to manage your agency’s talent successfully, whether they receive a pay check or not!

Megan Vixie - DOVIA

Presenter Megan Vixie

The presenter for this session is DOVIA Board President Megan Vixie, who has worked in the field of volunteer management for the past seven years.  Through her leadership at the Beach Cities Health District, the Volunteer Services program now hosts over 600 volunteers annually in more than 20 various programs.  In 2009, she led her team in merging Volunteer Services with Human Resources in order to streamline volunteer processes, creating more efficiency and support for volunteer programs. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Theatre from Loyola Marymount University, a Master of Public Administration (MPA) degree with an emphasis in Non Profit Administration from the University of Southern California and a Certification in Volunteer Administration (CVA).

Meet the 2013 DOVIA Board

DOVIA BoardPRESIDENT: Megan Vixie, MPA, CVA, Human Resources Talent Manager, Beach Cities Health District, megan.vixie@bchd.org

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT: Sean D. Devereaux, Manager, Volunteer Services, Aquarium of the Pacific, sdevereaux@lbaop.org

PROGRAM AND EDUCATION: Teena Thornton, Volunteer Specialist, Planned Parenthood Los Angelesteena.thornton@pp-la.org

MEMBERSHIP: Sasha Muraoka, Volunteer Manager, Habitat for Humanity Greater Los Angeles, smuroaka@habitatla.org

PUBLICITY: Melanie Goodyear, MAR, CVA, Site Director, Jericho Road Pasadena, mgoodyear@jerichoroadproject.org

SECRETARY: Nikki Carelli, Program Director, Students Run LA, nikki@srla.org

TREASURER: Georgina Diaz, Volunteer Manager, California Science Center, gdiaz@cscmail.org

PAST PRESIDENT: Trish Jones, Community Programs Supervisor, City of Palmdale, tjones@cityofpalmdale.org

CONNECT LA REPRESENTATIVE: Marsha Nave, Coordinator of Volunteer Activities, marsha.nave@yahoo.com

VOLUNTEER LOS ANGELES REPRESENTATIVE: Pedro Barrientos, Manager, Agency Partnership & Training, pbarrientos@volunteerlosangeles.org

Administrative Manager: Barbara Bradley, babradley@comline.com

If you work with volunteers anywhere in the greater Los Angeles region, please feel free to contact us with any questions! DOVIA registration material is at http://doviala.org/membership.htm